apkillo.blogg.se

Rick ross mastermind intro sample
Rick ross mastermind intro sample







rick ross mastermind intro sample

It is always “we.” I’m representing all of them, so for me it’s a family victory and it’s not just about me.Īllison Kugel: It’s interesting you say that. Skip Marley: They were proud for me, but it’s not for me.

rick ross mastermind intro sample

Skip Marley: I don’t really check those things too much, but wow!Īllison Kugel: Well, I checked it and it was the biggest streaming song in Marley family history.Īllison Kugel: What did your uncles and your mom (Cedella Marley) say to you when they heard that? Your song Slow Down (featuring H.E.R.) has been streamed more than 185 million times, globally. You’ve certainly reached a great number of people with your music. If my song affects one person, it has done its job to me.Īllison Kugel: Yes, I know exactly what you mean. People always ask me that, but what we do is like a light, the words of a speaker.

rick ross mastermind intro sample

So, I do feel like I have a responsibility, but it’s not a dark pressure.

rick ross mastermind intro sample

I feel like I have a duty as a next generation Marley to keep on this legacy that we built keep moving forward and taking it into the world. Skip Marley: It’s an honor and it’s a responsibility, because I have a duty. What does it feel like to carry the last name Marley? Does it feel like a tremendous responsibility? But it was really that moment when my Uncle Stephen brought me onto the stage that I thought, “Yeah, this music thing chose me. Skip Marley: Although I was always involved in music from when I was very young – piano lessons, guitar lessons, and things of that nature – I was always more into sports. They threw me in the water, so music chose me.Īllison Kugel: When you were growing up, was there ever a thought of maybe I’ll do something other than music? Or was it always a feeling that music was your destiny? He brought me up there to sing, and I sang One Love. That was my first shot, and I was about thirteen years old. And the third one was probably when my uncle Stephen brought me on stage, because that really gave me the push that I needed in music. It’s the reason we do what we do, so even at that young age it touched me, and I began to have more of an understanding… That was the first time I had seen a million or more people come out and celebrate my grandfather’s music and the message. The second was in 2005, at my grandfather’s celebration concert in Addis Ababa, Ethiopia. Skip Marley: I would say the first is when I was born (laughs). Skip Marley: I think officially when I was five years old, but we were always back and forth.Īllison Kugel: What three pivotal life events have made you the person you are today? headlining twenty city tour, Change.Īllison Kugel: You were born in Jamaica. The year 2022 shows no signs of slowing down, with Skip’s latest single Vibe featuring Jamaican deejay Popcaan, and Marley’s first U.S. Skip Marley is cultivating an eclectic catalog of music that speaks to a generation that refuses to be put in a box, but instead embraces diversity of expression. At the same time, Skip became the first Jamaican-born artist inside the Top 15 on Billboard’s R&B/Hip-Hop Airplay chart in a decade and a half.Ĭollaborations with family, including his Uncle Damian Marley, on the single That’s Not True deliver Bob Marley’s time-tested message, while Make Me Feel featuring rap icon Rick Ross and singer Ari Lennox introduce Skip to an audience that embraces a fusion of reggae, R&B and rap sounds. In spring 2020, Slow Down, with over 185 million global streams, became the quickest and biggest-streaming song in Marley family history, and elevated Skip to over 417 million total global artist streams, also Making Marley the first Jamaican-born artist to reach the #1 spot on the Billboard Adult R&B chart. The year 2020 led to another high-profile collaboration when Marley featured Grammy nominated R&B artist H.E.R. The Marley family dynasty and its mission of spreading love and social change through meaningful lyrics and reggae-infused beats has crowned its new prince in Skip Marley.īy 2017 Skip was collaborating with multi-award winning and multiplatinum selling pop artist, Katy Perry, when she featured him on her hit single Chained to the Rhythm, bringing him mainstream attention. From that moment on, music wasn’t an option, but a providential imperative for the now twenty-five-year-old singer-songwriter. Singer-songwriter Skip Marley, born to the late Bob Marley’s daughter, Cedella Marley and David Minto, was thrown into the deep end of the Marley music legacy when, at thirteen, his Uncle Stephen Marley brought him on stage to sing his grandfather’s iconic hit, One Love in front of thousands of fans.









Rick ross mastermind intro sample